The IELTS Academic consists of four sections:
  • Reading (40 questions),
  • Listening (40 questions),
  • Speaking (3 parts),
  • Writing (2 questions).
The score is converted to a scale of 1-9 points.
Whereas both the TOEFL and the TOEIC are the US-based test, the IELTS is a test designed and implemented by the British Council and the Cambridge University Assessment Centre. An IELTS score is accepted by thousands of institutions throughout the world and the score is valid for two years.
Unlike the TOEFL or the TOEIC, the IELTS is paper-based. During the test, additional time is given so that answers marked on the question booklet can be transferred to the answer key. In addition, the speaking tasks are carried out as interviews - face-to-face dialogues with test-givers.